Skip to content

Schengen Visas

A Schengen visa is issued for the purpose of a short stay (up to 90 days within a six month period) in a Schengen country.

A short stay Schengen visa is valid for the entire Schengen area, namely Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

A normal short stay Schengen visa is not valid for the Faroe Islands or Greenland. If you will be travelling to either of these destinations you will need to have a Schengen visa issued by the Danish Embassy marked "Valid for the Faroe Islands" or "Valid for Greenland".

Please note that a holder of a Schengen visa will still be subject to immigration control upon arrival and is as such not guaranteed entry into the Schengen area.

A short stay Schengen visa does not allow you to take up employment in the Schengen area.

A visa to the Schengen countries is valid for a maximum of 90 days per 6 months, calculated from the date of first entry. Those 90 days may be spread across one or more visits. A visa does not allow you to take up employment in the Schengen area.

If you remain in the Schengen area after your visa expires or if you attempt to use your visa stay to obtain permanent or long-term residency in Schengen, you can be barred from obtaining a Schengen visa for a period of 3-5 years.


Phone 03 2032 2001,
Monday to Friday 09.00-12.00

Visa by appointment